Sakha Travel

Sakha Travel on It mist, one would think, have been earlier, as the phrase of Wilamowitz (Der Glabt, i, 329), that the Twelve were united in Ionia at a very early date, also seems to suggest. The opinion of Carl Robeit (ArthMlogiscke Hermexeutik (1919), p. 22), that the Twelve were known by their number because they were, even in the fifth and fourth centuries, fearful daemons without names, has found little support and is indeed ridiculous. Considering the shape of the Athenian altar (which from what Thucydides says must have been oblong, not round), Weinreich conjectures that the gods were actually sculptured on it, and thinks it safe to assume that it was the Peisistratean Twelve who became the canonical, as we find them enumerated by later writers, e.g. Eudoxos the pupil of Plato, who assigned each one to a sign of the Zodiac. These twelve are: Zeus, Hera, Poseidon, Demeter, Apollo, Artemis, Ares, Aphrodite, Hermes, Athena, Hephaestus, Hestia. Sakha Travel 2016.

Sakha Travel Photo Gallery

Maybe You Like Them Too

Leave a Reply

− 3 = 1