Andrea della Robbia’s roundels (c.1490) on the Spedale degli Innocenti Dominican friar in grey habit San Marco o ‘he convent of San Marco was founded in the 13th century and enlarged in 1437 when Dominican monks from nearby Fiesole moved there at the invitation of Cosimo il Vecchio. He paid a considerable sum to have the convent rebuilt by his favourite architect, Michelozzo, whose simple cloisters and cells are the setting for a remarkable series of devotional frescoes (c. 1438-45) by Fra Angelico. The Mocking of Christ Fra Angelico’s beautiful allegorical fresco (c.1442’) shows Jesus blindfolded and being struck by a Cells 38 and 39 were reserved for Cosimo il Vecchio when he retreated to the convent to find spiritual sustenance and peace. Cells 12 to 14 contain relics of the religious fanatic Savonarola, made prior of San Marco in 1491 (seepp50-51). An ancient cedar stands in Michelozzo’s Sant’Antonino cloister. Entrance to San Marco The Deposition (1435-40) This poignant scene of the dead Christ, and other works by Fra Angelico and his School, are displayed in the former Pilgrims ‘ Hospice.